451 Main Street, Port Washington, NY.11050
516-767-SHIP (7447)
516-767-3760 (fax)
VHF Radio Channel 68

Tides in Manhasset Bay


Winter storage & year-round repair services

Home to The Rigging Locker

Download the 2015-2016 Winter Storage Contract.doc

or as an ACROBAT file PDF

Directions : Google maps Googlemap








The yard offers a full range of services, including:

  • Storage (winter and summer)
  • Winterizing, Shrinkwrap
  • Rigging
  • Engine maintenance and repair
  • Bottom painting, varnishing
  • Electronics installation and repair
  • Short hauls


    Manhasset Bay Shipyard has probably been used as a marine facility as far back as the post-Civil War period. In 1887, Elbert Stannard, a local resident and retired clipper ship captain, started a business converting wooden warships -- made obsolete by steam engines and iron cladding -- into freight and passenger vessels. Stannard's business likely included the current shipyard property. In 1889, six wooden warships and two coastal schooners owned by Stannard burned in a spectacular fire of unknown origin off Plum Point. Today, the small creek that runs along the southern side of the shipyard is known as Stannard's Creek.

    Shipyard Manager - George Martin, who has four full-time employees reporting to him.

    George Martin brings to Manhasset Bay Shipyard more than twenty years of varied shipyard experience.
    George began his nautical career as an Electronics Technician in the U.S. Navy. He is skilled in all aspects of boat maintenance and repair, including boat systems, fiberglass and gelcoat repair, bottom care, painting, and rigging. George is also a certified Yamaha technician, qualified in inboard and outboard gas engine repair. He has studied Yacht and Small Craft Surveying at the Chapman School of Seamanship.